Grilled Sirloin Steak with Pepper and Caper Salsa

With the end of summer fast approaching, I’ve come to a conclusion.  I haven’t been cooking.  Or baking.  Or doing anything in the kitchen that requires more than opening the freezer and pulling out a Dreamsicle.  I haven’t even baked for events.  Usually I always make something for Fourth of July, but this year I went to my party with only a bottle of wine.  It was a low moment for me.

image

There’s something about the summer that has just taken away my desire to cook.  I think it’s that on the days I work I come home and the last thing I want to do is turn on the stove.  Then on my days off, either my mom cooks or I have leftovers from the previous day.  There isn’t a need to cook, and because of that I simply haven’t.   Which, might I say, has made a food blog a little tricky.

Luckily, I have my old blog that I can pull recipes from during these cooking dry spells.  This recipe is one that I made last year and absolutely loved.  This post is as much for me as all of you, because I have to admit that I completely forgot I made this until I went through my old blog looking for something to share.  I’m glad I rediscovered it, because if memory serves me correctly it was a pretty tasty dinner.

A quickly seared sirloin steak is paired with a bright and acidic pepper salsa.  Using jarred roasted peppers, this meal comes together in twenty minutes.  Can’t complain about that!

Grilled Sirloin Steak with Pepper and Caper Salsa

Ingredients:

4 sirloin steaks
1 jar roasted red peppers, drained
1 jar roasted yellow peppers, drained
3 tbsp olive oil
3 tbsp balsamic vinegar
3 tbsp fresh parsley
1/4 cup capers
salt/pepper

Directions:

Whisk together the olive oil, balsamic, capers and parsley.  Add the peppers and stir to combine.  Set aside.

Heat a grill pan on the stovetop.  Season the steaks on both sides with salt and pepper.  Grill the steaks 4-6 minutes on each side for medium rare.  Let cool for 5 minutes.  Thinly slice the steak and top with pepper.

4 thoughts on “Grilled Sirloin Steak with Pepper and Caper Salsa

  1. Hi Friend!!! I am finally catching up on everything I’ve missed with all the Italy craziness going on. I’m excited to hear what you have been up to for the past couple of weeks! This grilled sirloin steak looks delicious! It’s nearly lunch time for me and you’re making my mouth water!

Leave a Reply

