Broiled Zucchini with Parmesan Crust

My house has about four movies that my dad consistently requests that we watch.  The movies are pretty varied, spanning from Borat to Schindler’s List.  Now, those are two movies that I’d never think would be in the same list.  Schindler’s List is one of my favorites out of his rotation.  While it’s long and mildly depressing (which is putting it lightly) it’s a solid movie.  I’m never against putting it on when my dad suggests it.  However, I have learned that there is a proper time and place to watch a movie like Schindler’s List.

A Friday night alone with a glass of wine?  Perfect time.  A Tuesday night with your family after a nice discount pasta meal?  Even better.  Before going out to the bars?

image

I made the mistake of watching it before going to a bar review once back at school, and it was literally the  worst thing I could have done before going out.  Nothing is a buzz kill quite like watching a whole bunch of people get wrongfully killed.

I was in a funk the entire night, and kept trying to strike up conversations about the the movie and the Holocaust.  My imbibing classmates thought I was insane.  They were probably right.

Moral of the story?  Don’t watch really depressing movies before going out.  Because then you will be the Debbie Downer of the party, and people will avoid you.  A great way to get ready to go out?  Lip-synch to Broadway showtunes in front of your mirror while going full-out in the acting department.  Seriously, my friends, try it.  You will not be disappointed.

On a completely and totally unrelated note (I do this way too often here) I made some fancy zucchini a few weeks ago and it might just be my favorite thing ever.  You think I’m exaggerating, but I’m not.  I have a special place in my heart for zucchini, because it is the only vegetable that I honestly believe tastes just as good fried or not fried.  That is one powerfully delicious vegetable.  This one is lightly browned in oil and then topped with parmesan cheese before being broiled to crisp perfection.

Broiled Zucchini with Parmesan Crust

2013-05-17 07.04.01

Ingredients:

2 tbsp unsalted butter

1 garlic clove, minced

1 tsp chopped fresh thyme

1 tsp chopped fresh rosemary

4 small zucchini, cut in half lengthwise and then in 1-inch pieces

Salt and Pepper

1/4 cup grated parmesan

Directions:

Heat the butter, garlic, thyme, and rosemary in a medium pan until the butter melts.  Add the zucchini in a single layer and cook until browned, 12 to 15 minutes.

Preheat the broiler.  Place the zucchini cut side up on a lined baking sheet and sprinkle with the cheese.  Broil until the cheese is golden brown, about 4 minutes.  Transfer to a plate and serve.

2013-05-17 07.04.08

Source: Giada’s Kitchen

6 thoughts on “Broiled Zucchini with Parmesan Crust

Leave a Reply

