Ricotta Cappuccino

I have an (un)healthy obsession with coffee.  It started when I was a little girl and I would stay overnight at my grandparent’s house.  In the morning my grandma would make breakfast, and I’d start the day with whatever breakfast my grandpa was eating.  There were many phases.  First there was the biscotti.  Then there was assorted small boxes of cereal.  We only had big boxes at my house, and I thought getting to have my own little box of cereal was just about the coolest thing ever.  No matter what I was eating, the one constant was a cup of coffee.  When I was little, it was about a cup of milk and a thimble’s worth of coffee.  And a heaping spoon of sugar.

30642_437753610055_5772602_n

My coffee tastes have changed since I’ve gotten older.  Now, I like just a touch of milk with my coffee, and absolutely no sugar!  Why mar coffee’s perfection with something as trifling as sugar?  I like to have at least a cup in the morning before I get going to work.  At school, when I’d have long study days I used to drink pots at a time. That’s probably going to bite me in the you-know-what sometime.

Because of my not-so-secret coffee crush, I love me some coffee themed desserts.  When I was little tiramisu was my jam.  I’d make my parents order it at every restaurant that we went to.  Loved, loved, LOVED it.  So, whenever I see a coffee dessert I just have to try it.  My brother was in town a few weeks ago and at the end of his stay I made him a going away dinner.  After some pasta and parmesan zucchini, I served this ricotta cappuccino.

2013-05-17 03.55.52

I love this dessert because it’s so unique.  It has an interesting texture that I can’t fully explain, but it makes you go for the next scoop.  And the next one.  Aaaannnnnd the next one.  I might have finished off my dad’s extras.  I’m a dessert beast.

Ricotta Cappuccino

2013-05-17 03.58.00

Ingredients:

1/2 cup sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1 (15 oz) container whole-milk ricotta cheese

1 1/2 tsp instant espresso powder

1 (3 inch) biscotti, crushed

pinch of ground cinnamon

pinch of ground cocoa

Directions:

In a food processor, cut together the vanilla and sugar.  Add the ricotta and espresso powder and blend until smooth.  Spoon the mixture into 4 dishes and refrigerate for at least 1 hour.  To serve, top with crushed biscotti and pinches of cinnamon and cocoa powder.

2013-05-17 03.58.20

6 thoughts on “Ricotta Cappuccino

Leave a Reply

