Buffalo Cauliflower Bites

This probably will not come as a surprise to any of you, but I am a total nerd.  It started when I was little and my dad sat my brother and I down to watch all of the original Star Wars.  I loved those movies – so much better than all the Indiana Jones movies we would alternatively watch – and I started collecting memorabilia pretty early.  When I was in grade school, almost every bit of my bedroom was covered with posters.  I had countless books, a Princess Leia costume, and a collection of action figures that even at my young age I refused to take out of their packaging lest they lose their value.  My Queen Amidala barbie got to see some action, though.  I used to have her and a  90210 Ken that I randomly owned act out scenes from Titanic.  I always had them trying to outrun gushing water in the ship’s corridors.  That apparently was the extent of my imagination at that age.

In case you’re thinking, “What is a Queen Amidala?!”, here you go.  It was the coolest Barbie ever because you got to do a bunch of stuff to her hair.  There was even a guide that showed you how to make the different hair styles.  It was an awesome toy until I lost about half of the hair pieces.  That’s when Queen Amidala started cavorting with Jack Dawson on the Titanic.

Since I’ve grown up (it terrifies me that I can now use that phrase, btw) my taste for geeky memorabilia has not tempered.  I don’t buy dolls anymore (or action figures) but I still love a good themed item.  My latest goodie (actually mom Mom bought it for me – but she KNEW it was my type of thing) is a coffee cup with Doctor Who’s Tardis (his space ship) disappearing on one side of the mug when you add your coffee and then reappearing on the other side.

Oh hey, Tardis chilling in the city.

Add coffee — It’s starting to appear on the other side!

And it’s on the other side!

Best. Mug. Ever.

Alright, now that you sat through four gratuitous pictures of my Tardis mug (you’re all such good sports) I will reward you with a recipe.  Last semester during finals I had the worst eating habits.  It was all prepared sandwiches from school and that one Taco Bell meal that had be rethinking my existence on this Earth.  This time around, I told myself I would cook more.  And I did!  I’m trying to cook through my refrigerator and when I found an unopened bag of frozen cauliflower in my freezer I knew exactly what I was going to do with it.

I am a firm believer that buffalo sauce tastes good on anything.  I’ve tried it on a bunch of random stuff, and there hasn’t been one combination that I didn’t like.  Granted, I’ve never tried it on dessert.  Anyone game for some buffalo cupcakes?

Yeah, that sounds gross.

Anyhoo, it is definitely not gross on cauliflower.  One of my friends made a permutation of this for our super bowl party, and I’ve been wanting to try my hand at it for a few months now.  I got this recipe from Skinnytaste, and it is a sure-fire winner.  Make this if you love buffalo sauce.  If you don’t love buffalo sauce, still make it.  This might just be the dish to change your mind.

Buffalo Cauliflower Bites

Ingredients:

1 cup water

1 cup flour

3/4 cup buffalo sauce

2 tsp garlic powder

1 tbsp melted butter

6 1/2 cups cauliflower

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.  In a bowl, mix together the flour, water and garlic powder.  Coat the cauliflower in the flour mixture and place on a baking sheet.  Bake for 20 minutes.  Combine the melted butter and buffalo sauce and pour over the cauliflower.  Bake for an additional 5 minutes.  Serve with ranch or bleu cheese dressing.

2 thoughts on “Buffalo Cauliflower Bites

  1. Oh my goodness, my bestie would LOVE that mug! I bought her a Tardis necklace for her birthday, but she would love this mug too! Especially because it combines her love for Dr. Who with her love for coffee. 😉

Leave a Reply

