Halfway Done

I’m smack dab in the middle of finals but am pulling my nose from my outlines to do a quick blog post.  It’s doing things like this that reminds me that there are normal people out there who aren’t insane law school people who don’t shower and go through way too many highlighters.

Side note – I never used up a highlighter before law school.  Now I think I’ve gone through something like twenty.  Law-school-proud.

Anyhoo, yesterday was my Constitutional Law exam and after seven hours (SEVEN HOURS) of staring at the same questions, I was finally finished and promptly rewarded myself with a shower and milkshake.  I can honestly say that I have never felt so gross as I did after that final.  Pretty sure if I went and stood out on a street after that I would have passed as a homeless person.

In case you were curious, I got a strawberry cheesecake milkshake from Sonic.  It was everything I hoped it would be and more.

I always love the few days after the first final because I find myself with a renewed desire to study.  My inner mantra is, “Wow, that first exam was awful.  Let’s make the next one less awful.”  This of course is a ridiculous way to think because it’s law school.  All the exams are awful.  Only in law school is it totally normal to leave an exam thinking you failed it and then end up with an A.  It’s all part of the game, though.  You trudge through the two weeks of hell, gravitating between a can-do-spirit and paralyzing self-doubt.  And then you get to the end and self-medicate with ice cream and Netflix marathons.

Oh man, just saw my future there.  Nothing has ever seemed more beautiful.

My next final is property, and I am happy to say that the studying is not going too poorly.  It’s funny when I look at my notes, though, and see all the things I didn’t learn about property.  Like, you know, pretty much the entirety of landlord-tenant-law.  I can tell you if a river is navigable, though.  That’s going to be super useful.

Only one week left though (6 days actually) until I am a free woman and can begin cooking and baking again!  As I will have time (and my NEW camera!) expect lots of fun recipes in the next few weeks!!!!

8 thoughts on “Halfway Done

  1. YAAAAAAAAAAAY! You are almost FREEEEEEEE! So exciting! In the meantime, good luck with those exams! 7 hours on one exam sounds unbelievably awful, haha!

    • I know!! I can hardly wait!!! And yeah, 7 hours was pretty intense. I actually got light-headed at one point because I had consumed SO MUCH caffeine. It was an experience!

    • Thank you, I hope they did! I have to say, I am very jealous of your husband that he is finished! Although now he has to prepare for the bar exam, and I do NOT envy him for that!

    • I’m not going to lie – they’re awful. BUT, when you get through them you’re in this super cool club of people who survived 1L exams. Also, the post-exam rush is like no other. I thought being done with exams was great in undergrad – it’s even better in law school!

Leave a Reply

