Oatmeal, Cranberry and Chocolate Chunk Cookies

So, I went bird watching yesterday.  No, that is not a joke.  Or a euphemism.  Back in February I went to an auction hosted by the law school where students bid on activities with professors.  A few friends and I went in on going bird watching with our Property professor.  It was a heated bid.  This one student’s mom was REALLY in it to win it…until we won it.  Take that, random mom.

We were all really excited for a day of bird watching (no joke) until our professor emailed us and arranged for us to meet at the law school at 7:30 in the morning.  My reaction to the email was laughter followed by  settling dread that accompanied the realization that I would be waking up at 6:30 on a Saturday.

image

It ended up being a fun (albeit long) day.  I saw 54 different bird species with $1,500 binoculars sporting Swarovski crystal lenses.

2013-04-20 08.00.04

Despite the fancy binoculars, the birds all looked the same to me.  My favorite part of the day, though, had to be when our professor literally took us through the woods to get back to the car.  At one point I was ducking under branches while attempting not to slip and fall down a fairly steep ravine immediately to my left.  A few minutes later we were climbing over a four foot pile of debris.  Who knew bird watching would be such an extreme sport?

2013-04-20 07.55.28

 

Note the sweet cuffing of my pants.  I’m a bird-watching-fashion-plate.

 

2013-04-20 07.54.45

The man, the myth, the legend:  our property professor.

I also ended up brushing up against something I was allergic to and my right hand blew up so much that I couldn’t get my ring off.  Again, who knew birdwatching would be so intense?!

These cookies would be the perfect bird-watching-treat.  For me, when I think of outdoor treats, I think of oatmeal cookies.  I think it has something to do with the presumed (and erroneous) healthiness of anything made with oatmeal.  If it’s made with oatmeal (and cranberries!) it just has to be healthy!  It also has boatloads of sugar and butter?  But, there’s OATMEAL in it.

Healthy or not, these cookies are worth making.  I love the chew of an oatmeal cookie, and cranberry is a nice replacement for the typical raison.  The chocolate chunks don’t need any further explanation.  Chocolate is always the correct answer.

Oatmeal, Cranberry, and Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Ingredients:

1 cup flour
3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 stick butter, room temperature
1/2 cup light brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg, room temperature
1/2 tsp vanilla
2 cups oats
1 cup dried cranberries
1 bar semi-sweet chocolate, chunked

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In a bowl, mix together the flour, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  In a separate bowl, beat the butter and sugars together until light and fluffy.  Add the egg and vanilla, and mix until smooth.  Gradually add in the flour mixture.  Mix in the oats, cranberries and chocolate.  

Scoop 1/4 cup of the dough onto a prepared baking sheet, spacing them evenly apart.  Bake for 13-15 minutes, until the cookies are slightly golden at the edges.  Let the cookies cool on the baking sheet for 20 minutes.

Source: Giada’s Weeknight Meals

2 thoughts on “Oatmeal, Cranberry and Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Leave a Reply

