Chocolate Chip Nutella Cookies with Sea Salt

There is a place called The Land of Constantly Doing Stupid Things and I am its Queen.  Remember that professor I told you about who paid 200 dollars on my cookies at an auction?  If you don’t remember, well, that last sentence pretty much sums it up.  We settled on Monday as cookie day, and I baked all Sunday to make more than enough cookies to feed my class.  I think I had over seventy cookies, and when I brought them in he gave me a nice little introduction and the cookies were passed around.  I had some  left over and took them with me, acting like cookie Santa as I gifted everyone I knew with the leftovers.

And then I found out he never got a cookie.

My professor – who paid 200 DOLLARS for the cookies – didn’t get a single one.  Of course, this made me feel like the worst person in the world.  Sure, the cookies were meant for the class, but it’s sort of assumed that the person who pays fro them gets at least one.  I had a different batch of cookies in class yesterday (I swear people think I’m a crazy baking lady) that I made for my weekly SBA meeting, and I considered offering him one, but I felt like that would be a consolation prize.  He deserved the cookies that he put the money up for not some replacement.  So, I’m attempting to fix this by baking an entire batch of the auction cookies just for him.  I figure it’s the closest thing I can do to remedy the situation other than getting a time machine and doing it right the first time.

Pretty sure time machines don’t work (despite me REALLY wishing they did for a variety of reasons) so I hope these cookies work.

Anyhoo, this post is not about the auction cookies.  You can find the recipe for those here.  This post is about the replacement cookies – a name which makes them sound so much less special than they are.  As stated above, I made these Chocolate Chip Nutella Cookies for my SBA meeting, and one of my SBA-ers told me it’s the best cookie I’ve made. He then proceeded to eat about eight of them.

Great success!

This is yet another cookie with browned butter.  I swear I make so many browned butter cookie recipes because I just really hate having to use my mixer.  It’s always an inconvenience to take it out, and then I have to clean the beaters and deal with finding an outlet.

Chocolate chips are folded into the batter and then a touch of Nutella is added to the center.  The cookie then achieves the perfect finish with a sprinkle of sea salt when they come out of the oven.  An added bonus is that they’re relatively easy to make.  I made them while half-watching The Following and freaking out at all the freaky twists.

Chocolate Chip Nutella Cookies with Sea Salt

Photo: Chocolate Chip Nutella Cookies with Sea Salt #noms #cookies #nutella

Ingredients:

2 1/4  cup flour

1 1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup butter

1 cup light brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 egg + 1 egg yolk

2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup Nutella

Directions:

To start off, cover a baking sheet with parchment paper and put 1 tsp dollops of Nutella on the parchment paper.  You’re going to want around 25 dollops.  Don’t worry if you have too many — you can just eat them later!  Freeze for at least 2 hours.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  

In a bowl, mix together the flour, baking soda and salt.  Set aside.  Heat the butter over medium heat in a sauce pan.  Stir constantly until brown specks appear at the bottom of the pan.  Remove immediately, as the butter burns quickly.  It should be a nice amber color and smell nutty.  Let cool completely.

In a large bowl, mix together the two sugars.  Add the cooled butter and mix until combined.  Mix in the eggs and vanilla extract.  Fold in the dry ingredients and chocolate chips.

Take the Nutella out of the freezer – it’s time to get stuffing!  Take roughly 2 tbsp of dough and roll into a ball.  Press a divet into the dough ball and stuff the Nutella dollop into it.  Pinch the dough around the Nutella so it is fully covered.  Continue with the rest of the dough.

Bake for 14 minutes.  Let cool on baking sheet for one minute, and then transfer to a cooling rack.

Source:  Annie’s Eats

12 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Nutella Cookies with Sea Salt

  1. I have to say, i can’t really remember how I ever found your former blog like a year or two ago, but I’m so glad I did! Especially since you post about GIlmore Girls and cookies, which are two of my top 10 favorite things 😀 These look absolutely delicious, I think I would rather have these than the peanut butter white chocolate ones because, come on, who can resist double chocolate?! 😉

  2. Oh no! So sad he didn’t get one. I’m sure he’ll appreciate the new batch too. It’s even better than just getting one and having to share the rest with the class. At least this way he gets several! 😉 Also, these cookies look delicious too! 🙂

  3. these cookies are definitely life-changing! that’s so sad that your professor wasn’t able to try one the day of, although definitely generous of him to pay that much for them! haha I love that you opt to brown butter instead of dirtying your mixer, that makes perfect sense to me! 😛

Leave a Reply

