Bacon Wrapped Asparagus

I started watching Private Practice yesterday, and my only complaint is that I didn’t watch it five years ago when it was actually on air.  For some reason, when I was younger I had a major issue with Addison Montgomery Sheperd.  And by major issue I mean I had a deep-seated-cannot-be-swayed hate for the character.  Probably because I was sixteen and she was getting in the way of my oh-my-gosh-they-just-have-to-get-together-and-make-pretty-babies couple Meredith and Derek.

Yeah, they’re pretty cute.  But still, I had all this pent up Addison aggression which was seriously misplaced.  Because upon my Grey’s Anatomy re-watch (more like my re-re-re-watch) I realized that Addison Montgomery Sheperd is a grade A boss.  She’s opinionated.  She’s outspoken.  She wears kick-ass salmon colored scrubs.

If at any point in my life I get to wear scrubs, I am insisting that they are salmon colored.  She is just the epitome of cool and class, and I think we all could benefit from living our life a little more Addison-like.  Except, you know, don’t cheat on your husband with his best friend.  Even if he does look like McSteamy.  I’m really excited to watch Private Practice now and watch the next Addison chapter unfold.  With Shonda Rhimes at the helm, I know it’ll be pretty eventful.

So, I have a recipe.  What I don’t have is a clever or remotely smooth transition, so I’m just going to jump ahead and pretend this flows.  Which it doesn’t.  Sorry ’bout that.

Bacon wrapped asparagus!  Ah, just the sound of it makes my heart go pitter patter!  I love asparagus.  Like, I don’t even care if it makes your urine smell funky or whatever.  I’ll take a life time of funky smelling urine if it means I get to eat asparagus all the time.  Especially if it’s wrapped in bacon, because we all know that everything (and I mean everything) is better with bacon.

It seems like an almost inappropriate thing to do.  You have this delicious and nutritious (hey, I rhymed!) vegetable and then you wrap fatty bacon around it.  This shouldn’t happen.  This should be wrong, and yet, it is so right.  The moment you bite into the asparagus and the saltiness of the bacon hits your tongue, there can be no question that this is the most right thing in the world.  It’s up there with calling your grandparents and church on Sunday.  So very right.

And, in this case, so very delicious.

Bacon Wrapped Asparagus

Ingredients:
 
1 package of bacon
1 bunch of asparagus
Salt/Pepper
 
Directions:
 
Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
 
Clean the asparagus, and break the stalks.

Next, wrap half a slice of bacon around the asparagus, leaving the tips and bottom visible. Arrange on a baking sheet and sprinkle salt and pepper.

Bake for 10-15 minutes, until the bacon is cooked and asparagus tender. Serve at room temperature.

16 thoughts on “Bacon Wrapped Asparagus

  1. Um, can I just say that I’m so happy you finally came around to the awesomeness that is Addison Adrienne Forbes Montgomery?! Ass kicking and name taking are on her resume. (Also, I don’t like asparagus but I like bacon…look, I made my comment about food!)

  2. You could’ve called her scrubs bacon-colored instead of salmon-colored, and then you’d be good to go. Though bacon-colored anything sound wrong, wrong, wrong.

  3. I love watching Private Practice. Over here, they send both Grey`s and Private Practice in one night,( tuesdays) so that`s my girly tv night, according to BF:-P But I guess if I made him some of these heavenly looking bacon-asparagus, he`ll probably get too happy to even think of my obsesssion with certain tv-shows;-)

  4. Just want to say your article is as amazing. The clarity in your publish is just nice and i could suppose you are a professional in this subject. Fine with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep up to date with coming near near post. Thank you 1,000,000 and please carry on the enjoyable work.

  5. Pingback: URL

Leave a Reply

