Coconut Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

This has been one of those weeks where every day you mistakenly think it’s the next day.  So, Monday you think it’s Tuesday.  Then you think it’s Wednesday.  Then you think it’s Thursday, which is pretty much the worst, because nothing makes you feel more like eating a pint of ice cream than thinking it’s almost the weekend, and then realizing you have three whole days left.

What It's Like To Be Single As Told By Jennifer Lawrence, Emma Stone, And Rebel Wilson

But now it is actually Friday, which is exciting for a myriad of reasons!  To start things off, today is my very first Unofficial at U of I.  To be honest, I’m equal parts excited and terrified.  I’m not a huge drinker and Unofficial is pretty much an all-day-boozefest.  I’m looking forward to the experience, though.  I’ll be with my friends and if I play my cards rights maybe I’ll get to see someone walk into a wall.  Which, honestly would be the greatest thing ever.

What It's Like To Be Single As Told By Jennifer Lawrence, Emma Stone, And Rebel Wilson

Anyhoo, beyond the all-day-boozefest I also have my parents and brother coming into town tomorrow – another reason for me to keep it cool today.  I don’t think they’d be too happy to drive all the way out here to deal with no-sleep-zombie-Liz.  There’s something I love about the idea of them coming down here and me showing them the town.  Granted, there’s not that much town to see, but it feels like a little bit of a vacation from the craziness that is law school.  Plus, my brother is also in law school at University of Pennsylvania, so we can complain about appellate briefs and I can make fun of him for the eightieth time about going to an Ivy League.

Anyway, for those of you who are thinking, “I don’t care about your social life.  Just give me some cookies”, this part of the post is for you.  Who would have thought I’d post so many cookie recipes while I cannot actually eat cookies?  I think it’s me living vicariously through my blog.  Also I just like looking at pictures of cookies.  Some people have Ryan Gosling photos on their desktop.  I have cookies.

These cookies are great because with oatmeal in them you can pretend that they’re healthy and eat lots and lots of them.  That weight gain?  Yeah, it’s totally just that time of the month.  The bonus about these is that they freeze beautifully.  I always love a good freezer cookie because it makes me feel less guilty about making huge batches.  So, basically you should make these cookies.  Or I will make this face.

What It's Like To Be Single As Told By Jennifer Lawrence, Emma Stone, And Rebel Wilson

Yeah, you better go make those cookies.

Coconut Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients:
 
1/2 pound butter, softened
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp baking soka
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
3 cups oats (any type)
1/2 cup coconut flakes
1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
 
Directions:
 
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
 
In a bowl mix together the oats, flour, baking powder, cinnamon and salt.  Set aside.  In a separate bowl, cream together the butter and sugars.  Add the eggs, one at a time, and mix until blended.  Mix in the vanilla extract.
 
Mix the flour mixture in with two batches, mixing until just combined.  Fold in the coconut and chocolate chips.  Drop rounded tablespoons of dough onto a prepared cookie sheet.  Bake 10-12 minutes.
10 thoughts on “Coconut Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

Leave a Reply

