Pasta with Zucchini and Chicken Sausage

It’s the second day of Lent, and that means it is also the second day of me not eating any baked goods.  Yep, you read that correctly.  I am giving up baked goods for Lent.  If you’re like my friends, your natural response is probably, “Why in the world would you give up baked goods?  You have a food blog.  What is wrong with you?!”.

I have great friends.

The truth is that as I’ve mentioned in previous posts, my sweets consumption has gotten out of hand, and as someone who considers herself a fairly healthy eater, I had to do something.  Of course, these past two days I’ve eaten everything in my house that is still a sweet without being considered a baked good.  The great thing about gluttony, though, is that it makes food disappear pretty fast.  I’ve eaten all the candy/chocolate in the apartment that sneaks past my Lenten promise, and I’m not buying more.

So, let the sugar detox begin.  For anyone who will be around me for the next few days, I apologize now for any mean or bitchy thing I do.  It’s not you.  It’s the sugar withdrawal.

I have a nice healthy recipe for you all right now.  It’s such a great weeknight meal when all you want to do after a long day of classes or work is sit on your couch with some food and your Netflix account.  This comes together in about twenty minutes, and you get lots of yummy leftovers!  What’s not to love?!

Pasta with Zucchini and Chicken Sausage

Photo: Dinner Part II

Ingredients:

4 pre-cooked chicken sausages, heated according to instructions

1 lb whole wheat pasta

2 zucchini

1 tbsp herbs de Provence

Parmesan cheese

Directions:

Boil the pasta according to the directions, roughly 8-9 minutes.  Strain and set aside while you make the zucchini.  Heat oil in a medium saute pan.  Quarter and slice the zucchini and place in the pan.  Sprinkle with herbs de Provence and cook for 15-20 minutes covered.

Combine all the ingredients and serve.  Sprinkle with parmesan.  Best served with love and some wine.

For those of you who participate in Lent, what are you giving up (if anything)?

10 thoughts on “Pasta with Zucchini and Chicken Sausage

Leave a Reply

