Flank Steak with Red Wine Sauce

I don’t have any words.

Okay, that’s a lie.  Obviously I have words because you are sitting on your side of the screen reading them, but I have no words that actually mean anything.  Do you ever have those times where you want to blog – you want to share – but find there is nothing to share?  Nothing to say?

It’s not entirely true to say that I have nothing to share.  This week has been full of life’s little hijinks.  The big law school event that I’m helping plan went through it’s third venue change.  I competed in a client counseling competition and didn’t hate it.  I even made some beef stroganoff that I neglected to take a single picture of.  A lot has happened, but I can’t really find anything in particular to elaborate on.

So, I will go straight to the recipe.  No witty lead up or pointless anecdote here.  Just a recipe with a poorly lit picture I took with my iPhone.

Clearly I take this food blogging thing really seriously.

I will, however, take a moment to complain about how this flank steak cost me 18 dollars.  I don’t understand this because flank steak is one of the more economical cuts of meat, yet it was priced like it fraternized with filet.  Anyhoo, my menu was set and there’s nothing I hate more than an un-set menu.

Oh!  I actually DO have a funny anecdote for this.  The red wine sauce is strained in this recipe, and me being an idiot strained the sauce directly into the sink.  I didn’t even realize what I was doing until half the sauce was gone and I jumped back with this huge cast-iron skillet.  It’s a wonder I don’t injure myself more when I cook.

Anyhoo, to end this very much stream of conscious post (sorry…I’m not sorry) you should make this steak.  Because it SHOULD be on the cheaper end.  It’s flavorful.  And it makes delightful leftovers.

Flank Steak with Red Wine Sauce

Photo: Flank steak with red wine sauce

Ingredients:

6 tbsp cold unsalted butter

1 onion, thinly sliced

1 tbsp minced garlic

1 tsp dried oregano

1/4 cup tomato paste

2 1/2 cups dry red wine

salt/pepper

2 tbsp olive oil

1 (2-pound) flank steak

Directions:

Melt 2 tbsp of the butter in a large sauce pan.  Add the onion, and sauté until tender.  Add the garlic and oregano and cook until fragrant, 30 seconds.  Stir in the tomato paste and cook for 2 minutes, stirring constantly.  Whisk in the wine.  Simmer until sauce reduces by half, 10 minutes.  Strain the sauce into a small bowl and discard the solids.  Set aside.

In a large skillet, heat the oil.  Add the steak and cook until done, roughly 8 minutes per side.  Remove skillet from the heat and let the steak rest for 10 minutes.

Transfer the steak to a cutting board and slice thinly on a diagonal.  Plate and drizzle with the sauce.

Source:  Giada’s Family Dinners

10 thoughts on “Flank Steak with Red Wine Sauce

  1. Aha wow, I congratulate your cooking! The steak looks good, although slightly on the pricey side as you say! Are you sure you were paying a fair price?!

    ‘Drizzle with the sauce’ – How much was there to drizzle? 😉 Hope you had a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

