Parsley-Panko Crusted Tilapia

My mind is a hot mess right now.

A HOT MESS, you hear?!

Classes start tomorrow and in between buying books, reading said books and planning lunches for the week – which I forgot is really difficult, I don’t know how moms do it – I finally have a minute to sit down and blog.  Which then of course leads to me spending a long time staring at a blank page because nothing really exciting has happened in the past few days since my last post, and I sort of misplaced my camera and can’t figure out how to get my pictures from Instagram on here.  I swear I followed the step-by-step and this site just responded by giving me the bird.  And by giving me the bird, I mean only a link appeared and not the picture.

Thanks for nothing, WordPress.

So, I’m doing what I always do when I can’t think of something to post.  I went back to the old Tip Top Shape (over on Blogger) and pulled up one of my favorite recipes to share.  I was all excited to share a cookie recipe.  Because, let’s face it, nothing is really more exciting than that over here.  But then I came upon this tilapia recipe and before I knew it I hopped back here and began typing the title.

Parsley-Panko Crusted Tilapia.

Just the name makes my heart go pitter-patter.  The thing that I love about tilapia is that it is literally the easiest thing to make.  Just thaw it, bake for about 15-20 minutes, and you have this amazing and healthy dinner.  This is the perfect weeknight meal.  It’s simple and elegant.

Parsley-Panko Crusted Tilapia

Ingredients:
2 tilapia filets (fresh or frozen)
1/2 cup breadcrumbs
1 egg beat
1/2 cup panko breadcrumbs
dried parsley
lemon juice
 
Directions:
 
Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Place a cooling rack (like you would use for cookies) on a cookie sheet and set aside.
 
If defrosting the tilapia, place in a strainer and run cold water over the filets until thawed.  Pat the filets dry.  In a small bowl, beat the egg and set aside.  In another bowl, mix together the breadcrumbs and parsley.
 
Dip the tilapia in the egg, shaking off any excess, and then dredge in the breadcrumb mixture.  Place the filets on the cooling rack and slide the baking sheet in the oven.  Bake for 15-20 minutes.  Finish off with a squeeze of fresh lemon juice.

What’s your favorite weeknight meal?

6 thoughts on “Parsley-Panko Crusted Tilapia

  1. Well, let’s see. That all depends on if I’m on a diet or not. It being the beginning of a new year, yep, we’re doing the ole low carb thing. Sigh. So for now it’s Ina Garten’s Lemon Chicken Breasts. Actually this is so insanely good I could eat it every night anyway. Yay! But if I’m not dieting any pasta any way would be my go-to week night meal.

  2. this sounds like a fabulous dinner! will have to try 🙂

    p.s. if you figure out instagram on wordpress, let me know. i never did, so i just save the photo to my desktop & post the old fashioned way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

