Downtown Adventures

I just realized that title could be taken two ways.  Don’t worry, my post will be about my time in the city 😉  Anyhoo, moving on from that inappropriate and largely unnecessary joke, yesterday I went into Chicago to shadow a judge at the Daley Center through a program at my school.  I was nervous for several reasons.  First, I put judges on a fairly high pedestal, and the idea of actually interacting with one terrified me.  The unknown terrifies me.  And, I couldn’t find a proper suit that fit me in time, which made all of the above even more terrifying.

It ended up being a fantastic experience, and I’m going to share with some of the highlights of the day.

1)  My judge was one of the jolliest men I have ever met.  When he would be hearing motions he would end each one by saying, “Super!”.  It makes me a little more relaxed to think that I won’t come up against onerous judges my entire career.  Because I have encountered a few that were not exactly friendly.

2) Mid-morning we sat in on traffic court.  Oh my word, that is like entering a whole new world.  My favorite part was the man who came to his hearing wearing a stolen shirt complete with the still-attached-security-tag.  Keeping it classy, Chicago.

3)  The other student who shadowed this judge was a friend of mine and I found out during lunch that she grew up with my first law school crush.  To say that the lunch was informative would be putting it lightly!

4)  I  had the privilege of sitting in on the beginning of a medical malpractice case after lunch.  That it the exact type of law that I would like to practice, and I cannot even put into words how amazing it was to sit in the courtroom and watch what I will potentially be doing in three years.   Sitting in that room only solidified my desire to go into that field.

The law school fun doesn’t end there.  I don’t know if I should tack on unfortunately or fortunately to that sentence.  Tonight I have a networking reception at Willis Tower where I will be meeting a number of large firms in the city.  The word nervous does not even begin to cover my feelings on tonight.  However, I DID find a proper suit this morning so at least I will be well outfitted!

Did any of you do anything exciting this week?  

12 thoughts on “Downtown Adventures

  1. I used to work for the Dept of Justice and dealt with quite a few judges during my time there…they always seemed to be one extreme or the other – incredibly nice, or incredibly rude! Good to know that you got a jolly one 🙂

    Hope your networking reception went well! Isn’t suit shopping the worst? My go-to store lately for them has been The Limited…relatively affordable and they don’t make me look like I’m 85.

  2. I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts in this kind of area . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this website. Reading this information So i am glad to convey that I’ve a very good uncanny feeling I found out just what I needed. I such a lot no doubt will make sure to do not fail to remember this site and give it a glance regularly.

  3. Hi, i think that i noticed you visited my blog so i came to return the prefer?.I’m trying to in finding issues to improve my site!I guess its good enough to make use of some of your concepts!!

Leave a Reply

