Spiced Pork Tenderloin with Sauteed Apples

Thank you so much for your kind words on the last post.  I definitely still miss him, but it has gotten better each day.  That’s largely due to the support around me, which includes all of you.  So, thank you again.

Now, on to happier trails.  I went grocery shopping today and did not have one single impulse buy.  Can you believe it?  Usually I go all sorts of crazy in the frozen food aisle — especially the frozen vegetables (weird, I know) – but today I stayed on track.  I also had a successful interaction with the butcher.  For those of you who don’t know, butchers intimidate me so I avoid them at all costs.  I needed a single pound pork tenderloin for this recipe, though, and all they had were two pound tenderloins out.  Not wanting to pay twice as much for extra meat that I didn’t need, I put on my big girl panties and asked for help.  Obviously I survived, so it wasn’t too bad.

I’m really excited to tell you all about this recipe today.  It’s from the newest issue of Cooking Light, and when I saw it I knew it would be on the week’s menu.  I’m in love with all things fall (even as we’re slowly creeping toward winter) and this just SCREAMS fall.  Sauteed apples.  Cinnamon.  Nutmeg.  It’s an autumn dream come true.  The best thing is that it literally comes together in twenty minutes.  It’s a quick meal that’s special enough to add some elegance to your weeknights.

Spiced Pork Tenderloin with Sauteed Apples

Ingredients:

1 lb pork tenderloin, sliced crosswise into 12 pieces

1/4 tsp pepper

3/8 tsp salt

1/4 tsp coriander

1/8 tsp nutmeg

1/8 tsp cinnamon

2 cups apples, sliced thinly

1 shallot, sliced thinly

1/4 cup apple cider

1 tsp fresh thyme

Directions:

Mix together the pepper, salt, coriander, nutmeg and cinnamon.  Sprinkle evenly over the tenderloin chops and press into the meat.  Heat a large saute pan over medium heat and spray with cooking oil.  Cook the chops for 3 minutes per side.  Set aside and keep warm.

Place the apples and shallot in the saute pan and cook until softened, about 4 minutes.  Add the apple cider and cook for another two minutes.  Sprinkle on the thyme and serve with the pork.

Source:  Cooking Light

4 thoughts on “Spiced Pork Tenderloin with Sauteed Apples

Leave a Reply

