Mexican Street Corn

Hello all!  Sorry for being such an awful poster last week.  I was all ready to have some fun spring break posts (I was off last week!) but then real life stuff happened and that had to take precedence.  Anyhoo, I am back at school and back on schedule!

I’m so excited to share this recipe with you guys.  I made my parents my favorite chickpea tacos over break and my mom made a point of telling me to make enough sides for my dad.  Because he is a man and apparently men need extra sides.  So, I listened to her, because I am a good daughter, and immediately started Googling Mexican veggie side dishes.  There were some boring zucchini recipes and some weird casseroles, and then I came upon the perfect recipe.  Mexican street corn.

tumblr_lofromwMdu1qej4mpo1_500

I was so excited to use this and and then promptly undercooked it.  The cook time for the corn seemed a bit low, but I figured if Sunny Anderson said to cook it for so long, that’s how long I’m going to cook it!  Well, the recipe is intended for a grill pan, and I used some griddle pan thingy that my mom makes pancakes on, but I figured it would char the corn.  I figured right.  The corn got nice and charred.  It was the cooking part that was a bit lacking.

Even undercooked, this corn was pretty delicious!  The mayonnaise mixture, as weird as it sounds, adds a nice heat to the corn.  Don’t skip a little squeeze of lime at the end, either.  It’s perfection!!

Mexican Street Corn

2014-03-24 08.23.03

 

Ingredients:

4 ears of corn, chucked

olive oil

1/2 cup mayonnaise

1 tsp chili powder

1 tsp garlic salt (or a few good shakes of salt and garlic powder if you’re too lazy to make the garlic salt like me)

Freshly ground black pepper

1 lime, quartered

Directions:

In a bowl mix together the mayonnaise, chili powder, garlic salt and pepper.  Set aside.

Heat up your grill pan.  Brush the sides of the corn with the oil.  Grill the corn for 6-10 minutes, until all sides are charred. Brush on the mayonnaise mixture and serve with the lime quarters.

2014-03-24 08.23.26

Source:  Food Network

 

8 thoughts on “Mexican Street Corn

Leave a Reply

