The Murtaugh List

It’s probably not a surprise to you all, after reading just one post of this blog, that law students go out a lot.  It’s the old adage, “Work hard.  Play hard.”  All week we are slaves to our books and the lawbrary.  We read endless pages.  Go through a ridiculously high number of highlighters.

Then it’s the weekend and we like to go out and pretend that we’re normal people.  Or at least I used to.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I really do like going out with my cohorts.  It’s fun.  They’re fun.  But lately I’ve been feeling like it’s more of a chore than a fun Friday night.  The problem is that I’m naturally a homebody.  I like to go out once in a while, but if I’m being completely honest on a Friday night was I really want to do is eat a burger and watch some Buffy the Vampire Slayer or Bridget Jones’ Diary for the eighteenth time.

The problem is, by the not-remotely-old age of 22, I have lost my desire to rage.  I don’t want to take seven shots.  I don’t want to bar hop.  I want to go to one place, have one beer, dance a little, and then end up home and in bed by one.  Basically, my Murtaugh List has been born.

For those of you who are thinking, “What the hell is a Murtaugh List?”, well, let me explain.  The Murtaugh List hails from How I Met Your Mother and is a collection of things you deem yourself too old to muddle through.  The name comes from Danny Glover’s character in Die Hard who repeatedly says that he’s…well…I’ll let the picture speak for itself.

Maybe it’s just a phase or I haven’t settled back into my old school routine.  I’m leaning toward that because last semester I kept up with everyone else and had a blast doing it.  Either way, I’ll keep the Murtaugh List close.  I’m sure I’ll have other things to add soon like my neighbors playing their music too loud or the price of milk going up.

How do you guys feel about going out?  Love it?  Hate it?  Don’t really care and are just wondering why there isn’t a recipe here?

6 thoughts on “The Murtaugh List

  1. Wow, Liz – I like the new you. Your blogs are riddled with humor and sass! Oh, and the recipes sound yummy, but as usual I don’t know when I’ll find time to bake them.

  2. This post was great. For me, it seemed like the second I graduated from undergrad a switch got turned off and suddenly I wasn’t the rage machine I used to be. I managed to keep it going for another year or so in New York, but then I realized how fun it is using weekends for sleeping. It’s all gone downhill from there…

    • Yes!! Sleep is completely the best part of the weekend! That’s one of my things against going out, too. If I’m drinking I always wake up between 8 and 9. And we all know the time I’m going to bed is NOT supposed to wake me up that early.

Leave a Reply

