Peanut Sauce Soba Noodles with Shrimp

I have been the opposite of adventuresome in the kitchen lately.  I’ve been adventure-less-than-some.  Adventure-if-you-eat-a-salami-sandiwch-one-more-time-you-will-turn-into-one-some.  The immediate issue is that when I get home from school the last thing I want to do is cook.  I used to say it was relaxing, but I think that was when I had some semblance of free time or during finals where anything not involving a book was the greatest thing ever.  I actually looked forward to doing laundry, and anyone who knows me knows that is ridiculous.

Anyway, I’m usually a total schmuck when it comes to dinner so I am pretty jazzed to share with you all this super-easy and super-delicious dinner.  This is something that I actually make fairly often because it comes together quickly but is still more filling than a sandwich.  As much as I love sandwiches, I always feel like I get short-shrifted when I eat one for dinner.  I don’t know.  I’m weird.

I usually make this without the shrimp (might even prefer it that way) but you can’t deny the protein-nutrient-punch that the little crustaceans provide.  Also, it makes it look prettier in a picture!  So anyhoo, make this and you can get a taste of what eating in the Tip Top Shape kitchen is like!  All you need for the full experience is to add a cookie, some wine and a chronic lack of napkins!

I really should buy some napkins.

Peanut Sauce Soba Noodles with Shrimp

Ingredients:

1 bundle soba noodles

6 shrimp, defrosted

1 tsp oil

1 cup pea pods, sliced in half

For the sauce:

Peanut butter

soy sauce

Water

Directions:

Boil water in a large pot and add the soba noodles.  Boil for 5 minutes and then rinse and drain in a collander.  Heat 1 tsp of oil in a medium sautee pan and add the shrimp.  Sautee until cooked through, 3-4 minutes.  

In a blender mix together the peanut sauce, soy sauce and water.  I didn’t measure this because it’s really up to your preference in how thick or thin you like the sauce.  I typically err on the side of more peanut butter because I like a strong taste.  Regardless, the technique for the sauce is pretty standard.  If it’s too thick add more water.  If it’s too thin add more peanut butter.  Bada boom.

Combine all the noodles, shrimp, sauce and pea pods in a bowl.  Serve at room temperature.

8 thoughts on “Peanut Sauce Soba Noodles with Shrimp

Leave a Reply

