Panna Cotta with Fresh Strawberries

I had Taco Bell for the first time yesterday.  I ordered the XXL steak nachos after my final and proceeded to chow down watching One Tree Hill.  It started out okay, but then the more fake cheese I ingested the more I kept thinking, “This is not that good.”  And then I ate some more.  Had the same thought.  Ate even more.  And then I finished the entire 1 lb platter (yes, I mean platter) of nachos.

When I end up being 800 pounds and following fashion tips from Mama Honey Boo Boo I have only myself to blame.

In an attempt to counter the Taco Bell I am going to post perhaps one of the classiest recipes from the old blog.  For those of you who are not acquainted with panna cotta — there is no time like the present.  Panna cotta is a cooked Italian cream originating in Northern Italy.  It also has three cups of heavy whipping cream.

I said it was classy not healthy.

I made this for the first time over the summer for a small dinner party I hosted with some friends.  It is the perfect ending to a meal because despite the heavy duty ingredients, it’s a relatively light dessert.  Serve it with some cut up fruit for a delightful close to your meal.

Panna Cotta with Fresh Strawberries

Panna CottaIngredients:

2 cups whole milk
1 tbsp unflavored powdered gelatin
3 cups heavy whipping cream
1/3 cup honey
1 tbsp sugar
1 cup strawberries, chopped

Directions:

In a saucepan, mix together the milk and powdered gelatin.  Let sit for 5 minutes, softening the gelatin. Put the saucepan over medium heat, and whisk for 5 minutes.  Do not let the mixture boil.  Remove from heat and add mix in heavy whipping cream, honey and sugar, about 2 minutes.  Pour into either ramekins or wine glasses and let cool before covering and putting in the refrigerator.  Set either over night or for at least 6 hours.  Add the berries and serve.

Source:  Everyday Italian

8 thoughts on “Panna Cotta with Fresh Strawberries

  1. 1) I don’t know how you’re in college and are *just* experiencing Taco Bell and all it’s unhealthy glory. I lived on the stuff when I was in the CU. (Hence my post about massive weight loss when I moved home, eh heh)
    2) Don’t get addicted to it and end up on “True Life: I’m addicted to Grade F meat.”
    3) Panna Cotta is mega-noms. Try adding a dash of lemon juice into your honey mixture with some basil or sage leaves for some extra zing. (Herbs and berries are frenemies, but sometimes they make it work). Or you could macerate your berries with some herbs. I’m getting carried away.

    This looks fantastic! I hope you’re enjoying finals week in CU. It’s a fun cluster-poop of study-drinking – at least for the undergrads.

    • Ha, sadly no study-drinking here but we all are going to hit it pretty hard the second we’re done. My roommate is getting those travel size liquor bottles to put in her purse so she can literally start drinking the minute we’re done.

      And I love the idea of adding some lemon juice and herbs. Bet it would be delicious! Thanks for the tips!

  2. oooh! panna cotta! never tried that, but just decided yesterday that this christmas I`m going to try out a lot more new recipes. and it doesnt hurt that I`m visiting family that will gladly eat whatever I serve them!

  3. Liz, you are a riot! Sounds like your first Taco Bell experience was less than stellar, but still fit the requirement for post-final destressing. Wishing you lots of luck with it! Thanks for sharing this super classy, not at all healthy but lovely, panna cotta. Gotta try it for myself!

Leave a Reply

