I love you, Starbucks

I am currently typing from my local Starbucks with my venti soy misto and the slice of coffee cake that I told myself repeatedly I would not order.  Starbucks is something I really miss from undergrad.  I lived in the city and had no less than five Starbucks in walking distance from my apartment.  I have rose-tinted memories of Starbucks-hopping on weekends when the line would be too long or one didn’t have a table open by an outlet.  By the way, have you noticed that the tables with outlets are primo real estate at coffee shops?  Every time I snag one I feel like I won the lottery.  Anyhoo, Starbucks are pretty sparse near U of I.  There’s one near campus but it’s always filled with undergrads which…just…no.

Since I’ve been home, I’ve gone to Starbucks nearly every day to work on my outlines for finals.  It’s nice to get away from the house with my distracting family (I love them – but they are not conducive for studying) and I get to have my favorite drink.  And coffee cake.  And play spot-the-hometown-person-you-haven’t-seen-in-years.  I ran into my old badminton coach and both of us sort of stared at each other with that I-know-you-but-I-don’t-know-your-name look.  Needless to say, neither of us said hi.  But she did pay my skyscraper pile of casebooks a long glance.

With Thanksgiving just around the corner, I thought I’d share with you all some royal icing cookies I made with my friend Meg a week or so back.  Meg is one of those people that I am insanely happy I have met in law school.  We’re both crazy cooks and Annie’s Eats fanatics.  I know that if I want to talk to someone about the chili I made over the weekend or my batch of cookies from the night before, Meg is my go-to.

I’m going to spare you a recipe here and just tell you all to go to Annie’s Eats and read her post on royal icing.  She puts it much more eloquently than I ever could.

Hope everyone is enjoying the pre-holiday days and for my law school peeps — hang in there!!

4 thoughts on “I love you, Starbucks

Leave a Reply

