Frittata with Fontina Cheese

It’s no surprise that I love feeding people.  It’s the little old Italian grandmother in me that gets a ridiculous amount of satisfaction from making food and sharing it with the people in my life.  My neighbors must love this about me because I feed them about every other day.  Okay, slight exaggeration, but we do get together for dinner every week and one of us cooks.

Last week I invited them over for some pork chops midweek, but had neglected to think of a side dish.  I ALWAYS do this.  Maybe its’ just a weird Liz thing, but I will have the entire main dish planned and then five minutes before I start cooking go, “A side dish!  What the hell do I make for a side dish?!”  Not wanting to go through an entire bag of frozen vegetables, I decided that a frittata was really the only way to go.  When in doubt, go with a frittata.  Words to live by, folks.

For those of you are unfamiliar with frittatas (the horror!) it’s basically an Italian omelette.  Instead of dealing with flipping and all that jazz, though, the added ingredients (i.e. meat, cheese and veggies) are baked right into the egg.  It starts out on the stove and then finishes up in the broiler for a nice golden top.

Btw — any New Girl fans out there?  I pretty much died when Schmidt made the frittata reference last night.

“Are you cooking a frittata in a sauce pan?  What is this, prison?”

You gotta <3 Schmidt.  Seriously.

Frittata with Fontina Cheese

Ingredients:

5 eggs

1 tbsp milk

4 oz fontina cheese, cubed

parmesan cheese

Directions:

Crack and beat the eggs in a bowl.  Pour in the milk and fontina cheese, and mix until combined.  Meanwhile, heat an oven-safe saute pan over medium heat.  Pour in the egg mixture and top with parmesan cheese.  Cook until the egg is set, 10-15 minutes.  Turn on the broiler and put in the pan for 3-4 minutes, until the top is golden brown.  Cut into wedges and serve.

6 thoughts on “Frittata with Fontina Cheese

Leave a Reply

