Brown Butter Chocolate-Stuffed Toffee Cookies

One of the things I looked forward to most about law school was joining the softball team.  When I was choosing between this school and Loyola, I literally made a pro-con list with soft ball on the U of I side.

Tonight was the first set of games and it was everything I thought it would be and more.  I have to admit I was a little nervous at first, especially when you realize there’s this relatively hard ball flying at your face.  Once you realize that the hulking-forty-three-dollar-glove protects your face from the ball, though, it gets better.  And then you find out there’s a keg and things get EVEN better.

We played my roommate Sarah’s team, and we totally won.  I’d like to say I contributed to the win, but all I did was yell out kitschy phrases and making “in the hole” jokes.

In retrospect, I totally contributed to the win.

In the upcoming weeks, I want to start bringing cookies to the field.  Basically so that I can become a Team Mom and force my baked goods on people.  Because really, what is better than forcing people to ingest large amounts of sugar?

Speaking of large amounts of sugar, these cookies are ridiculous.  RIDICULOUS.  I think eating just half could rot most of your teeth, but they’re so delicious you don’t even care.  Not even a bit.  I’m sure these will be made again some time in the future for a softball game.  Hope my teammates don’t like their teeth too much.

Brown Butter Chocolate-Stuffed Toffee Cookies

Ingredients:

1 1/2 sticks butter

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup white sugar

1 egg + 1 egg yolk, at room temperature

2 tsp vanilla extract

2 cups + 2 tbsp flour 

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup toffee chips

chocolate chunks

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

In a bowl mix together the flour, baking soda and salt.

Heat a saucepan over medium heat and melt the butter.  Stir constantly, until brown bits form on the bottom of the pan.  It will smell nice and nutty.  Remove from heat immediately.  Let the butter come to room temperature and then  stir in the sugars.  Stir in the flour mixture.

Fold in the toffee chips.  Take the dough and form two tablespoon size mounds.  Wedge chocolate between the two tablespoons and press together.

Bake for 12-14 minutes.  Let rest on baking sheet for 5 minutes and then remove gently to a cooling rack.

Source:  How Sweet Eats

10 thoughts on “Brown Butter Chocolate-Stuffed Toffee Cookies

  1. I totally get you. I love attending social events where it’s appropriate to pawn off baked goods on people. I’m taking a booze bus to a wine festival tomorrow that’s an hour away, and I’m already scheming about what kind of treat to make for the bus. Gotta have something to soak up the wine, right?

    Anyway, these cookies look awesome! Brown butter makes everything more delicious!

  2. Not gonna mind one bit if you bring cookies every week. And one week, we are going to royal ice some softball themed cookies, k? K. These look amazing, btw. Absolutely amazing!

Leave a Reply

