Balsamic Black Bean Salsa

I’m of the firm belief that alliteration makes things better.  Movie titles.  Kitschy phrases.  It’s especially true for names, because it helps me remember them.  I am the worst at remembering names.  Like, THE WORST.  I can’t tell you how many times I meet someone, have a long involved conversation with them, and then see them the next day and have absolutely no idea who they are.  Of course, instead of behaving like a normal person and simply going, “I’m so sorry but I don’t remember your name…” I avoid the matter all together and let the no-name-issue fester until  asking would be uncomfortable and slightly offensive.

Yeah, totally wish everyone had alliterative names.  I would avoid so many embarrassing situations.

This recipe almost has an alliterative name.  I made it for Taco Tuesday (yes, I have a problem) with my roommate Sarah and our neighbors and immediately decided that I wanted it with every single meal.  Is it normal to want salsa for breakfast?  Probably not, but I’ve never exactly been normal, so I’m just going to go with it.  Speaking of normal, this salsa is the opposite of it.  It combines black beans, corn and salsa verde with an unexpected splash of balsamic vinegar.  If you’re leery about mixing these flavors the best thing to do is close your eyes, wish for the best, and go for it.  You will not be disappointed.

Balsamic Black Bean Salsa

Ingredients

1 can black beans (15 oz), drained

1 can yellow corn (15 0z), drained

1/2 medium onion, diced

1 can salsa verde (7 oz)

Juice of 1 lime

1/2 tsp cumin

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

Salt/Pepper to taste

Directions:

Mix all of the ingredients together and cover with plastic wrap.  Let marinate overnight.  When serving, drain most of the liquid and serve along with tortilla chips.

Source: Mel’s Kitchen Cafe

5 thoughts on “Balsamic Black Bean Salsa

  1. Pingback: Utilizing Leftovers: Spicy Taco Salad | Tip Top Shape

Leave a Reply

